top of page

Dev Blog: FRIENDS Apartment


Alpha version released. Above is a screenshot from the Shared Worlds page on this site.


What's unique about this page? It's an interactive page where you can navigate in 3d, and it can be embedded in websites, as shown in the example on the link above.


I decided to document my journey through this blog, as well as vlogs which I'm working on in the background, in order to keep myself focused on the project, and will serve as an encouragement as I look at my progress, and build a momentum thereupon.


I've released a video demo last week, June 4, 2021, prompted by my participation in the Architectural Visualization week on Artstation. It's an exciting time since Artstation was recently acquired by Epic Games, creators of Unreal. Exciting for me since it made me feel more encouraged to share more archviz works on Artstation... and it feels less strange nowadays (as I find it more dominated by Visual development works for film and games, which I'm not totally unfamiliar with, since I've been working on games since 2009).


The video demo (on Vimeo) linked to my Artstation page.


The Alpha Release Version


The Alpha release version of Friends Apartment - Monica's Apartment on Shared Worlds, shows the floor plan of Monica's apartment, with items and appliances on the kitchen as well as the dining area.


Features:

  • Monica's apartment floor plan

    • Kitchen (work in progress)

    • Living room (layout only with doors, walls and windows. No appliances yet.)

  • Kitchen, with:

    • tables and chairs,

    • appliances (refrigerator, stove/ oven, microwave oven)

    • wall cabinets with items

    • pots and pans (on the wall)

    • dividers in the kitchen

  • Level of detail:

    • Kitchen items - blocking stage. No texture yet.

    • Floor - textured (PBR material)

    • Walls - textured basic (painted purple, bricks in kitchen - PBR material)

  • Background / Environment:

    • Dark mode


View the "SharedWorlds: Friends Apartment" Project here: SharedWorlds-Friends

Experience Interactive 3D right at your fingertips! Works on any device with internet and web browser (Chrome, Safari, Firefox, etc.). If you can read this blog, the 3d will most likely work on your device too right now! Click the link and check it out for yourself! :D



Share with your friends!



Cheers,

Charity


bottom of page